2022 Honors: All-615 Preps Large Class Team
Read Time:4 Minute, 19 Second

2022 Honors: All-615 Preps Large Class Team

Our third annual All-615 Preps teams have been determined by our staff. This year’s Large Class Team is made up of players from teams in Class 6A and Division II-Class AAA.

This is the third group of postseason honors, following the Small Class and Medium Class teams released earlier this week.

Most Valuable Player: Darius Johnson, Beech

Johnson’s versatility proved essential to Beech’s Class 6A runner-up finish in 2022. The 5-foot-10, 195-pound senior racked up 1,873 yards, averaging 11.1 yards per carry with 23 touchdowns as part of a backfield that delivered two 1,000-yard rushers. On defense, Johnson finished with 67 total tackles (49 solo), with eight tackles for a loss and two sacks. He intercepted three passes, returning two of them for scores, and recovered two fumbles. He also blocked a punt for a touchdown in the Buccaneers’ 50-39 victory at Bartlett in the 6A semifinals – while rushing for 301 yards and four touchdowns in that contest. Johnson also delivered a 238-yard, three-touchdown performance in Beech’s second-round win over visiting Smyrna.

Offensive Player of the Year: Marcel Reed, Montgomery Bell Academy

The Big Red rolled behind Reed’s arm (and his legs) in 2022, as the Texas A&M signee threw for 2,198 yards and 27 touchdowns, also adding 944 yards and 15 touchdowns on the ground. Nine of his touchdown passes came in his final two games, a four-TD game in a win over McCallie in the semifinals, and five touchdown passes in the BlueCross Bowl loss to Baylor. Reed led MBA to three state title game appearances in four years.

Defensive Player of the Year: Arion Carter, Smyrna

Carter picked up Mr. Football honors for 6A in 2022 as the University of Tennessee early enrollee led Smyrna on both sides of the ball. He finished with 92 total tackles, three sacks, three forced fumbles, five pass breakups, and an interception. He also had 185 carries for 1,184 yards and 19 touchdowns, including a five-TD game against La Vergne on Sept. 9.

Co-Special Teams Players of the Year: Anthony Crowell, Lebanon; and Jacob Taylor, Oakland

Crowell returned three kickoffs and a punt for touchdowns in 2022, part of a season that saw him account for touchdowns in six different ways (rushing, receiving, passing, kickoff return, punt return, interception return). He finished with 17 total touchdowns for the Blue Devils and 1,432 all-purpose yards.

Of the 712 points Oakland scored in the 2022 season, Taylor was directly responsible for 109 of them. He made all seven field goal attempts and all 88 extra-point attempts for the Patriots. He had 73 touchbacks on kickoffs. Taylor also averaged 49 yards per punt with a long of 75 yards.

Coach of the Year: Kevin Creasy, Oakland

Creasy’s Patriots finished 14-1 and while a third consecutive unbeaten season was not in the cards, a third straight championship was, despite losing a large and talented senior class from the 2021 season.

Team of the Year: Oakland Patriots

Despite having a 36-game winning streak snapped in a 35-14 loss at CPA, Oakland rebounded quickly and decisively, winning its remaining eight games by at least 23 points and six of those eight by 34 or more points. It resulted in the Patriots becoming the first team to ever three-peat at the 6A level in Tennessee high school football history.

First Team


Quarterback: George MacIntyre, Brentwood Academy; Jack Risner, Blackman

Running Back: Johnothan Moore, MBA; Carter Pace, Ravenwood; Deuce Scott, Brentwood Academy

Wide Receiver: Demitrius Bell, McGavock; Justin Brown, Blackman; Josh Mailander, Pope Prep; Claiborne Richards, MBA

Tight End: Ben Marshall, Blackman

Offensive Line: Keith Bowman, Oakland; Caleb Dorris, Ensworth; Eli Freeman, Lebanon; Davis Greene, Brentwood Academy; Jayden Marable, Smyrna; Buster Overstreet, Beech

Athlete: JP Courtney, Beech; Kade Hewitt, Oakland

Kicker: George Laster, Brentwood Academy


Defensive Line: Gabe Fisher, MBA; Eriq George, MBA; Jamarr Jones, Pope Prep; Isaac Oglesby, Riverdale; Hank Weber, Brentwood Academy

Linebacker: AJ Barbat, Brentwood Academy; Nathan Hepborn, Oakland; Caleb Herring, Riverdale; Korey Smith, Oakland

Defensive Back: Jeremiah Collins, Oakland; Adam Fontechia, Brentwood; Hunter Jeansonne, MBA; Mose Phillips III, Cane Ridge; Dominic Reeed, Centennial

Athlete: Martez Cooksey, Ensworth; Jaylon Johnson, Cane Ridge; Eric Taylor, Oakland

Punter: London Bironas, Brentwood Academy

Second Team


Quarterback: Shivan Abdullah, Cane Ridge; Jaylen Abston, Lebanon

Running Back: Jamar Carnell, Clarksville; Jevon Edmonson, Overton; Stevin Mack, Hendersonville

Wide Receiver: Ian Bonura, Dickson County; Cooper Brown, Franklin; Byron Davis, Cane Ridge; Brooks Sapone, Independence

Tight End: Ryan Edmiston, Riverdale

Offensive Line: Drake Carlson, Father Ryan; Aiden Donald, Lebanon; Peyton Jones, Stewarts Creek, Bralynn Morris, Ensworth, Jacob Thompson, Ravenwood

Athlete: JoJo Crump, Father Ryan; Taner Lee, Centennial; Javarian Otey, Stewarts Creek

Kicker: Paulos Estifanos, Ensworth


Defensive Line: Cameron Floyd, Oakland; Brison Jackson, Lebanon; Tyler Nix, Beech; Keegan Scruggs, Centennial

Linebacker: Jerrell Franklin, Oakland; Bronco Hanks, Beech; Tre Johnson, Oakland; Max Orefice, Brentwood; Browning Trainer, MBA

Defensive Back: Payne Daniel, MBA; Robbie Daniel, Rockvale; Elijah Pitts, Blackman; Caden Thieman, Beech; Jaylen Thompson, Riverdale

Athlete: Kemauri Allen, McGavock; Tarrion Grant, Siegel; Thomas Jones, Smyrna

Punter: Luke Armistead, Brentwood


%d bloggers like this: