2022 Honors: All-615 Preps Medium Class Team
Read Time:4 Minute, 11 Second

2022 Honors: All-615 Preps Medium Class Team

Our third annual All-615 Preps teams have been determined by our staff. This year’s Medium Class Team is made up of players from teams in Class 4A-5A and Division II-Class AA.

The All-615 Preps Small Class Team can be found here.

Most Valuable Player: Gabe Borders, Macon County

Borders’ contributions as a sophomore helped spearhead the Tigers to an 8-3 finish in 2022. His campaign led to a Mr. Football finalist nomination with 2,425 yards of total offense (1,035 rushing, 795 receiving) and accounted for 32 total touchdowns (17 rushing, nine receiving, one passing, three kickoff returns, one punt return, one interception return). Borders averaged 7.4 yards per carry and 33.1 yards per catch. Defensively, he recorded 45 total tackles, nine pass breakups, two fumble recoveries, four interceptions and blocked two kicks.

Offensive Player of the Year: Junior Sherrill, Lipscomb Academy

A Vanderbilt commitment, Sherrill was Lipscomb Academy’s go-to guy in 2022, racking up 94 receptions for 1,362 yards and 24 touchdowns. His top performance came in a 41-12 win over FRA when he caught nine balls for 239 yards and six scores. Sherrill caught at least one touchdown pass in all but one game in 2022.

Defensive Player of the Year: Kaleb Beasley, Lipscomb Academy

Beasley was a Mr. Football finalist in Division II-AA after racking up nine interceptions and six defensive touchdowns (four interceptions and two fumbles). The University of Tennessee commit also finished with 36 tackles and two tackles for a loss. Beasley also averaged 20.7 yards per punt return on 16 attempts.

Special Teams Player of the Year: Kaleb Carver, Green Hill

Carver returned two punts and a kickoff for touchdowns for the Hawks in 2022. He averaged 36.2 yards per kickoff return and 15.5 yards per punt return. Those numbers supplemented his offensive work, where the University of Indianapolis commit finished with 42 receptions for 662 yards and 11 touchdowns, and 16 carries for 213 yards and another score.

Coach of the Year: Justin Geisinger, Franklin Road Academy

Franklin Road Academy’s first season under Geisinger’s watch represented a big turnaround from 2021 as the Panthers went from a 4-7 mark to a 10-2 finish in 2022. FRA finished second in Division II-Class AA’s Middle Region after a nine-win regular season that included a 39-38 victory at CPA and ultimately led to a state quarterfinal appearance for the first time since 2019.

Team of the Year: Lipscomb Academy Mustangs

No team in Tennessee was more dominant than Lipscomb Academy was in 2022. After a fourth-quarter rally gave the Mustangs a nationally-televised road win at Alabama power Thompson, Lipscomb Academy won its remaining games by an average of 43.1 points per contest en route to securing its second consecutive Division II-Class AA state title.

Nolensville’s Chance Fitzgerald is one of 10 Knights to earn All-615 Preps honors for the 2022 season after a 12-1 campaign. (Scott Burton/615 Preps)

First Team


Quarterback: Hank Brown, Lipscomb Academy; Coby Walton, Nolensville

Running Back: Colby Barnes, DeKalb County; Ty Clark III, FRA

Wide Receiver: Chance Fitzgerald, Nolensville; London Humphreys, CPA; Dylan Northcutt, Nolensville; D’Arious Reed, Pearl-Cohn; Boyce Smith, Page

Tight End: Bo Burklow, CPA

Offensive Line: Ayden Bussell, Mt. Juliet; Joe Crocker, FRA; Ronan O’Connell, Page; John Wayne Oliver, CPA; Brandon Solis, Lipscomb Academy

Athlete: Javion Kinnard, Pearl-Cohn; Courtland Simmons, Davidson Academy

Kicker: Logan Leftrick, Springfield

Greenbrier’s Nathan Robinson led the Bobcats in tackles in 2022 and earned First Team honors for his work. (Chris Brooks/615 Preps)


Defensive Line: Jerran Jackson, Pearl-Cohn; Donovan Nevils, BGA; Nathan Robinson, Greenbrier; Taylor Wein, Nolensville

Linebacker: Grace’son Beach, Pearl-Cohn; Eric Hazzard, Page; Bryan Longwell, Lipscomb Academy; Edwin Spillman, Lipscomb Academy

Defensive Back: Derrick Burroughs, Nolensville; Osize Daniyan, Mt. Juliet; Ondre Evans, CPA; Ja’quis Williams, Pearl-Cohn

Athlete: Crews Law, CPA

Punter: Estaban Hurtado, Wilson Central

Springfield’s Devon Crenshaw led the Yellow Jackets in rushing as well as passing in 2022. (Chris Brooks/615 Preps)

Second Team


Quarterback: Devon Crenshaw, Springfield; Colin Hurd, Page

Running Back: Ethan Cunningham, Page; Samson Johnson, Nolensville; Khameron Athy, Northeast

Wide Receiver: Travyion Binford, Springfield; Max Collins, Page; Freddy Paxton, Portland

Tight End: Wes Harper, Davidson Academy; Jase Hoath, Page

Offensive Line: Bailey Black, Nolensville; Tyler Gollotte, Pearl-Cohn; Chauncey Gooden, Lipscomb Academy; A.J. Johnson, Page; Jake Rathbone, Page

Athlete: Malachi Cromwell, Pearl-Cohn; DeArrius Morton, Mt. Juliet; Keshawn Tarleton, Pearl-Cohn

Kicker: Reese Miller, Nolensville


Defensive Line: Tony Carter, Jr., Lipscomb Academy; Jayden Jackson, Pearl-Cohn; Emanuel Russell, Pearl-Cohn; Glenn Seabrooks, Davidson Academy; Mason Swindle, Macon County

Linebacker: Jackson Bandy, Nolensville; Sanders Ellis, Station Camp; Mason Swonger, Portland; Shymarion Woodard, Springfield

Defensive Back: Seth Cabale, Page; Clarence Cobbins, Springfield; Eric Harper, Nolensville; Ja’Quavion Johnson, Springfield; Jalen Jones, Springfield

Athlete: Bobby Council, FRA

Punter: Juan Pena-Maddox, Northwest


%d bloggers like this: