2021 615 Preps Medium Class All-Area Team

The next group in our second annual 615 Preps All-Area Teams for the 2021 season is the Medium Class team, made up of players from teams in Class 3A, Class 4A, and Division II-Class AA.

Seventeen players from last year’s inaugural team (noted by an asterisk) make repeat appearances this season.

Below is the 2021 615 Preps Medium Class All-Area Team, beginning with the superlatives and a brief summary of why they were chosen.

As a reminder, only players from the schools in our coverage area were eligible.

2021 615 Preps Medium Class Superlatives

(Kevin Smith/615 Preps)
Player of the Year: Alex Broome, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.*

Broome won Mr. Football honors and helped the Mustangs to the Division II-Class AA state championship, rushing for 1,395 yards and catching 67 passes for 803 yards, scoring 41 touchdowns in his senior season. He also won this honor in 2020.

(Kevin Smith/615 Preps)

Offensive Player of the Year: Luther Richesson, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.*

Richesson was a Mr. Football finalist as he threw for 2,925 yards and 39 touchdowns with only five interceptions. He completed 79.7 percent of his passes (240-of-301), and ran for three touchdowns as well.

(Scott Burton/615 Preps)

Defensive Player of the Year: Langston Patterson, CPA, Sr.*

Patterson racked up 127 tackles in helping lead the Lions to their fourth consecutive BlueCross Bowl appearance. He also had 12 tackles for loss, four sacks and an interception. Patterson also repeats winning this award.

(Scott Burton/615 Preps)

Coach of the Year: Jamaal Stewart, East Nashville

Stewart’s Eagles won their first region championship in 2021, then made it all the way to the Class 3A state championship game. Prior to this season, the East Nashville program had never advanced past the second round of the playoffs.

(Scott Burton/615 Preps)

Team of the Year: Lipscomb Academy Mustangs

The Mustangs won their first state title since 2007, averaging 49.7 points per game with all but one of their 12 wins needing to enact the mercy rule. The defensive starters didn’t allow a point in their final eight games.

First Team

(Barion Brown and Ranen Blackburn photos by Scott Burton/615 Preps)
  • Quarterback
  • Cade Law, CPA, Sr.*
  • Running Backs
  • Sean Williams, BGA, Sr.*
  • Amarion Ford, East Nashville, Sr..
  • Wide Receivers
  • Barion Brown, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.*
  • Frank Gordon, East Nashville, Jr.
  • London Humphreys, CPA, Jr.
  • Courtland Simmons, Davidson Academy, Jr.
  • Offensive Line
  • Evan Carney, CPA, Sr.*
  • Glenn Seabrooks, Davidson Academy, Soph.
  • Kaymon Overton, East Nashville, Sr.
  • Connor Farris, Fairview, Jr.
  • Parker Hollinsworth, White House, Jr., Jr.
  • Athlete
  • Ranen Blackburn, White House, Sr.*
  • Jeffery Vercher, FRA, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Bryson Harper, White House, Sr.
(Jerry Campbell and Jaden Lyles photos by Kevin Smith/615 Preps)
  • Defensive Line
  • Kendyle Ball, Davidson Academy, Sr.
  • Jamison Keeley, Smith County, Jr.
  • Sam Roush, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.
  • Mason Swindle, Macon County, Jr. Jr.
  • Linebackers
  • Jerry Campbell, East Nashville, Sr.
  • Casen Cunningham, Montgomery Central, Sr.*
  • Koa Naotala, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.
  • Pierce Scholato, White House, Sr.
  • Defensive Backs
  • Kaleb Beasley, Lipscomb Academy, Soph.
  • Isaac Knowles, DeKalb County, Sr.*
  • Jaden Lyles, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.*
  • Edwin Spillman, Lipscomb Academy, Soph.Soph.
  • Athlete
  • Zion Morris, BGA, Sr.*
  • Willie Wilson, East Nashville, Sr.Sr.
  • Punter
  • Bobby Council, FRA, Soph.

Second Team

  • Quarterback
  • Braydee Brooks, Macon County, Sr.
  • Running Backs
  • Reece McAfee, White House, Sr.
  • Ryan Perkins, Cannon County, Soph.
  • Wide Receivers
  • Bryson Burns, Davidson Academy, Sr.
  • Cameron Houston, Macon County, Sr.
  • Reid Williford, CPA, Sr..*
  • Offensive Line
  • Diego Coronado, DeKalb County, Sr.
  • JaDarious Lee, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.
  • Devin Lejsek, White House Heritage, Sr.*Sr.*
  • Colin Stewart, CPA, Sr.*
  • Alex Valbuena, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Crawford Claxton, Fairview, Jr.
  • Jayden Robinson, Pearl-Cohn, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Grant Hyatt, Lipscomb Academy, Sr.
  • Defensive Line
  • Miller Barnett, BGA, Sr.
  • Montrel Black, White House, Sr.
  • Josiah Jackson, FRA, Sr.
  • Linebackers
  • Rhys Blackburn, White House, Jr.
  • Bryce Currie, Smith County, Jr.
  • Bryan Longwell, Lipscomb Academy, Jr.
  • Nathan Robinson, Greenbrier, Jr.*
  • Hunter Scott, Goodpasture, Sr..
  • Defensive Backs
  • Taye Francis, White House Heritage, Sr.
  • Morgan Jean, Fairview, Sr.*
  • Amarion Lucas, White House, Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Layden Grant, Fairview, Jr.
  • Punter
  • Joseph Moore, White House Heritage, Sr.
  • * – denotes player from 2020 Medium Class All-Area Team
%d bloggers like this: