2021 615 Preps Small Class All-Area Team

We’re pleased to present our second annual 615 Preps All-Area Teams for the 2021 season, beginning with the Small Class team, made up of players from teams in Class 1A, Class 2A, and Division II-Class A.

Twelve players from last year’s inaugural team (noted by an asterisk) make repeat appearances this season.

Below is the 2021 615 Preps Small Class All-Area Team, beginning with the superlatives and a brief summary of why they were chosen.

As a reminder, only players from the schools in our coverage area were eligible.

2021 615 Preps Small Class Superlatives

(Photo by Scott Burton/615 Preps)
Player of the Year: Josh Strickland, Nashville Christian, Sr.*

Strickland helped lead the Eagles to the BlueCross Bowl for the first time since 2017, becoming a Mr. Football finalist and winning Middle Region Player of the Year honors along the way. He rushed for 1,797 yards and 33 touchdowns in 2021, averaging 9.9 yards per carry. Strickland also caught 15 passes for 185 yards and three scores, made 44 total tackles (29 solo) on defense and added an interception as well.

(Photo by Kevin Smith/615 Preps)
Offensive Player of the Year: Bradford Gaines, Donelson Christian Academy, Sr.*

Gaines was a Mr. Football finalist after leading the Wildcats to their first state title since 2004, throwing for 2,506 yards and 32 touchdowns against nine interceptions. Gaines completed 64.6 percent of his passes (115-of-178) in 2021 and was a First Team All-Middle Region selection.

(Photo by Noah Freeman/For 615 Preps)
Defensive Player of the Year: Xavier Harper, Trousdale County, Sr.

Harper was a two-way standout for the Yellow Jackets who did his biggest damage defensively, especially in opponents’ backfields. He led Trousdale County with 103 total tackles, with 25 for a loss, a team-high seven sacks, a forced fumble, one fumble recovery, an interception (returned for a touchdown), and a blocked kick.

(Photo by Scott Burton/615 Preps)
Coach of the Year: Paul Wade, Donelson Christian Academy

Wade’s Wildcats won their first state title in 17 years, headed by a senior class that three years earlier finished 0-10.

(Photo by Scott Burton/615 Preps)
Team of the Year: Donelson Christian Academy Wildcats

Only one team scored more than 20 points against DCA during its 12-1 championship campaign, and the Wildcats scored 28 or more points in all but one game as well. DCA averaged 40.5 points per game while allowing 10.7 points per contest.

First Team

(Bryson Claiborne photo by Noah Freeman for 615 Preps; Dayton Sneed photo by Kevin Smith/615 Preps)
  • Quarterback
  • Brayden Cousino, Watertown, Sr.*
  • Aden Hooper, MTCS, Sr.*
  • Running Backs
  • Bryson Claiborne, Trousdale County, Sr.
  • JaMarion Thomas, Mt. Juliet Christian, Sr.*
  • Wide Receivers
  • Demarkus Brown, Mt. Pleasant, Jr.
  • Landon Baker, Gordonsville, Sr.
  • Jaelyn Marsh, Nashville Christian, Sr.
  • Kaden Seay, Watertown, Sr.

  • Offensive Line
  • Marshall Booker, Westmoreland, Soph.
  • Aidan Francis, DCA, Sr.*
  • Jordan Gentry, Gordonsville, Sr.
  • L.J. Tolbert, DCA, Jr.
  • Aleric Watson, MTCS, Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Ryan Dowlen, Jo Byrns, Sr.
  • Dayton Sneed, DCA, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Braden Ducharme, DCA, Jr.
(Kevin Bradley photo by Scott Burton/615 Preps; Taylor Groves photo by Alivia Schwan/615 Preps)
  • Defensive Line
  • Carlos Alarcon, East Robertson, Jr.
  • Kevin Bradley, Nashville Christian, Sr.
  • Aiden Humes, Nashville Christian, Sr.
  • Noah Tidwell, Friendship Christian, Sr.
  • George Steih, Grace Christian, Sr.
  • Linebackers
  • Will Dudney, Gordonsville, Jr.*
  • Nick Gray, Westmoreland, Jr.
  • Jaden Robertson, Watertown, Sr.
  • Brady Russell, DCA, Jr.*
  • Defensive Backs
  • Keenan Burnley, Trousdale County, Sr.
  • Cole Gregory, Trousdale County, Soph.
  • Taylor Groves, East Robertson, Sr.*
  • Tyler Morris, Nashville Christian, Sr.*
  • Eli Wilson, MTCS, Soph.
  • Athlete
  • Nathan Magalei, DCA, Sr.
  • Collins Malone, Columbia Academy, Sr.*
  • Punter
  • Troy Gass, Westmoreland, Sr.

Second Team

  • Quarterback
  • Matthew Albritton, Gordonsville, Jr.
  • Garrett Weekly, Friendship Christian, Jr.
  • Running Backs
  • Ashton Jones, DCA, Soph.
  • Tylson Wolcott, Friendship Christian, Soph.
  • Wide Receivers
  • Adam Cooper, Watertown, Soph.
  • Maddux Lambert, Grace Christian, Sr.
  • Brock Montgomery, Friendship Christian, Soph.
  • Offensive Line
  • Gavin Alderson, Mt. Pleasant, Sr.
  • Aidan Francis, DCA, Sr.
  • Nolan Forsha, DCA, Sr.
  • Bryson Greer, Gordonsville, Jr.
  • Gavin Seabolt, MTCS, Jr.
  • Athlete
  • Paris Pridgen, Clarksville Academy, Sr.
  • Kicker
  • Luke Chabot, Eagleville, Jr.
  • Defensive Line
  • Noah Clemmons, Watertown, Jr.
  • David Lyles, DCA, Jr.
  • Hayes Watson, MTCS, Sr.
  • Landon Wix, Jo Byrns, Jr.
  • Linebackers
  • Euriah Archibald, Mt. Pleasant, Jr.
  • Cameron Carden, Nashville Christian, Jr.
  • Carter Murphy, Grace Christian, Sr.
  • Canaan Musgrove, Gordonsville, Soph.
  • Defensive Backs
  • Jacob Cook, Donelson Christian Academy, Jr.*
  • Treyson Davis, Gordonsville, Sr.
  • Canon Lansdell, Columbia Academy, Sr.
  • Landen Perry, Harpeth, Soph.
  • Corbin Yarbrough, Clarksville Academy, Sr.
  • Athlete
  • Benjamin Drake, Whites Creek, Sr.
  • Punter
  • Landon Williams, Friendship Christian, Soph.
  • * – denotes player from 2020 Small Class All-Area Team
%d bloggers like this: