Opening Drive: Mr. Football

Three midstate standouts capped their seasons with a Mr. Football award on Monday as the area saw Stratford’s James “Magic” Moore win in Class 3A, Nolensville’s Tim Coutras take the 4A award and Middle Tennessee Christian’s Kemari McGowan add his name to the list of Division II-Class A winners.

Six other nominees didn’t go home empty-handed as all the finalists were presented with their respective awards. Gallatin’s Spencer Briggs and Beech’ Ja’sean Parks were finalists in Class 5A, while Blackman’s Connor Murphy was a 6A finalist. Battle Ground Academy’s Nick Semptimphelter was a Division II-AA finalist, while Ravenwood’s Luke Akers and Brentwood Academy’s Paxton Perry were finalists for Kicker of the Year.

Catch up on news from around the area:

Nashville area has three Tennessee Titans Mr. Football winners | Tennessean

Tennessean Midstate high school football rankings: Top 10 entering BlueCross Bowls | Tennessean

Eight storylines entering the Tennessee high school football state championship games | Tennessean

MTCS’ Kemari McGowan named Tennessee Titans Mr. Football in Division II-A | Daily News Journal

Nolensville’s Coutras named Mr. Football; Akers, Perry and Semptimphelter honored as finalists | Williamson Herald

GOOD TO HAVE OPTIONS | Columbia Daily Herald

Nolensville’s Tim Coutras brings home 2019 Mr. Football award in Class 4A | Williamson Home Page

2019 Mr. Football ceremony honors players from Ravenwood, BA, BGA, Fairview, Page | Williamson Home Page

COLUMN: Springfield gets back to state, but we shouldn’t be surprised | Springfield gets back to state, but we shouldn’t be surprised | Robertson County Connection

%d bloggers like this: